Award-Winning Malaysian Author Celebrates Homecoming With Autograph Session

Penang born author Tan Twan Eng became the very first Malaysian to take home the Man Asian Literary Prize 2012 for his novel "The Garden of Evening Mists." Set during the Japanese Occupation in Malaysa, his novel tells the story of a retired supreme court judge who is the sole survivor of a Japanese prisoner-of-war camp. Get your books signed by the author himself this 6-7 April!

Cover image via

Malaysian fans meet award-winning author Tan Twan Eng at autograph session

Tan Twan Eng autograph session.

Image via

Tan Twan Eng autograp session. Photo courtesy of Biblio-file.

Image via

Get your Tan Twan Eng novels signed this 6-7 Apr

Malaysian author, who recently bagged the Man Asian Literary Prize, celebrates his homecoming with this special book signing of his award-winning novel.

Meet the man himself at Books Kinokuniya, 7.30pm on April 6 and at MPH Subang Parade, 3pm on April 7.

Tan Twan Eng beat out four other authors for the $30,000 (RM93,000) prize

Malaysian writer Tan Twan Eng won the 2012 Man Asian Literary Prize for his second novel, becoming the first Malaysian to claim one of Asia's main literature prizes.

The Malaysian novelist impresses judges with 'The Garden of Evening Mists', a tale about memory and forgetting in the shadow of second world war.

Literary critic Maya Jaggi, who is a judge, championed the book for working on so many levels and with so many themes while also being a tale driven by mystery.

"This comes as a huge shock. It's such a strong list that I'm speechless," said Tan, who beat four other shortlisted books to win the $30,000 prize.

The prize, first awarded in 2007, is for works by Asian writers written in or translated into English, and is intended to widen exposure of Asian literature in the English-speaking world.

Tan: "Malaysian writers are at a disadvantage because there haven’t been other Malaysian writers being read by a worldwide audience".
Unsupported video platform

Man Asian Literary Prize 2012 shortlist

Image via
Image via
Image via

About 'The Garden of Evening Mists'

"On a mountain above the clouds, in the central highlands of Malaya lived the man who had been the gardener of the Emperor of Japan..."
Image via

Set during the Japanese occupation in 1950s, The Garden of Evening Mists follows young law graduate, Yun Ling Teoh, as she seeks solace among the plantations of the Cameron Highlands.

It's narrated by Teoh Yun Ling, a retired Supreme Court judge who is the sole survivor of a Japanese prisoner-of-war camp.

About Tan Twan Eng

Image via

Tan Twan Eng grew up living in various places in Malaysia. He studied law at the University of London and later worked as a lawyer in a reputable law firm.
Image via

He had nurtured a secret desire to write since his childhood and in his early 30s took the opportunity for a "gap year" - studying for a Masters at Cape Town University.

Tan published his first novel, 'The Gift of Rain', in 2007, it was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize.

"Tan writes with breath-catching poise and grace...for Tan’s core themes include the treacherous lure of loveliness, and the pitfalls of aesthetic nostalgia."

You may be interested in: