Watch Out, Drivers. AES Is Back And It Now Has A Demerit Point System

The newly launched Automated Awareness Safety System (AWAS) will focus on two particular offences for now.

Cover image via

Drivers, you might want to think twice before speeding or beating the red light because the AWAS system is now up and running

Image via CBT

The Automated Awareness Safety System (AWAS) which integrates both AES (Automated Enforcement System) and the Demerit Points For Traffic Offences System (Kejara), has gone online from 1 April, according to The Star.

The system would only utilise 14 AES cameras installed nationwide and aimed at two offences for now

“This is still the initial stage of the project and we want to focus on advocacy. For now, the system will only include two offences for the Kejara system - speeding and running the red light,” said Road Transport Department (JPJ) director-general Datuk Nadzri Siron as quoted by The Star.

More cameras will be installed later this year. JPJ also expects to include other traffic offences.

Apart from incurring a RM150 summon, offences such as overtaking over double lines, using the emergency lane, and speeding will see demerit points deducted from drivers’ licenses

Under the new system, motorists will start with 20 points each and their driving licence will be revoked once all points have been fully deducted.

Back in January, Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said he is confident that this implementation will produce more courteous and cautious drivers

Image via Reuters

"Under the system, those who abuse traffic laws will first be given a warning; a summons will be issued for recurring offences; and as a last resort, their driving licence will be suspended," Liow said.

Do you think the AWAS system will be effective in reducing traffic accidents in Malaysia? Let us know your thoughts in the comment section below.

Read more trending news on SAYS:

You may be interested in: