[BREAKING] Musa Aman Is No Longer Chief Minister Of Sabah

The BN statesperson refused to resign from the post even after Datuk Shafie Apdal was sworn in on Sunday.

Cover image via

In a breaking report by Bernama today, 14 May, Tan Sri Musa Aman has been served a letter of notification stating that he is no longer Chief Minister (CM) of Sabah effective 12 May

According to a tweet by Bernama, an entourage led by Abinan Asli, private secretary to the Yang di-Pertua Sabah, showed up at the Barisan Nasional (BN) statesperson's residence this morning (above) to formally deliver the letter.

Berita Harian reported that the letter states that Musa Aman is no longer CM from 12 May onwards. 

The letter was received by Musa Aman's private secretary, Effendy Mohamed Sunoh, as the ousted CM is believed to be in Kuala Lumpur for a meeting with UMNO president Datuk Ahmad Zahid Hamidi. 

Tan Sri Musa Aman was sworn in as CM of Sabah on Thursday, 10 May after BN and Solidariti Tanah Airku (STAR) formed a coalition with a simple majority of 31 seats in the 60-seat state assembly

Tan Sri Musa Aman.

Image via Malaysiakini

However, within 24 hours, six BN state assemblymen jumped ship to Parti Warisan Sabah (WARISAN) headed by Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal, giving them a simple majority of 35 seats

Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal was sworn in as CM of Sabah on Sunday, 13 May.

Image via Bernama

The WARISAN president was then sworn in as the 15th CM of Sabah at the state palace on Sunday evening, 13 May. 

At this point, Sabah has two CMs, as Musa Aman denied that he has resigned and insisted that he is the rightful Chief Minister despite Yang Dipertua Negeri Tun Juhar Mahiruddin requesting that he step down from the post. 

Meanwhile, Bernama also reported that Datuk Shafie Apdal has clocked in for his first day as the CM of Sabah this morning

The political situation in Sabah was a real life House of Cards after the uncertainty following the results of GE14:

Read more GE14 news stories on SAYS:

You may be interested in: