10 Quick Facts To Know About The Commonwealth Games Before It Opens Tonight

The quirky facts that you need to know about the Commonwealth Games.

Cover image via

1. The Commonwealth Games are held once every four years, consisting of nations that were once part of the British empire

The Commonwealth Games (CWG) is an international, multi-sport event, held every four years for athletes from the Commonwealth Nations. These nations are the United Kingdom and states that were previously part of the British Empire.

2. This year's games is the 20th edition and will be held in Glasgow, Scotland. This is the third time Scotland has hosted the games, the last being in 1986.

Image via

This will be the 20th edition of the Commonwealth Games. The first was hosted by Hamilton, Canada, in 1930 and known as the British Empire Games. Scotland has previously hosted the event twice, in 1970 and 1986, both in Edinburgh.

3. Australia is the most decorated team in the history of Commonwealth Games, winning a total of 2,000 over medals with 803 of them being gold

Image via

The most successful nation in Commonwealth Games history. They have 803 golds and the only nation with over 2,000 medals.

4. Malaysia was the first Asian nation to host the Commonwealth Games, back in 1998 in the city of Kuala Lumpur

Image via

The capital city, Kuala Lumpur, hosted the first ever Commonwealth Games in Asia in 1998.

5. The games were originally known as the British Empire Games before being renamed as the Commonwealth Games

Image via

The games have seen many changes since then and not least in it's name. It was originally called the British Empire Games and went on to be named The British Empire and Commonwealth Games before becoming the Commonwealth Games in 1978.

6. World number one, Nicol David will be making her appearance in Glasgow and will look to retain her title

Image via

David, 30, the world's top-ranked player since 2006 is looking to retain the singles title she won in New Delhi four years ago in Glasgow, where five of the world's top seven will be competing.

7. This year's edition of the Commonwealth Games will feature 71 nations from six different continents

Image via

There will be 71 nations at the Commonwealth Games from six different continents. Only nations within the Commonwealth can compete.

8. The mascot for this year's games is called Clyde. He's a thistle and is the first non-animal mascot!

9. Women's boxing and mixed team relay event in triathlon will be making their debut in this year's games

Image via

10. The next Commonwealth Games will be held in Gold Coast, Australia and will be the fifth time they will be hosting the games

The World Cup just ended recently. Relive all the memories and highlights HERE:

You may be interested in: