You Can Soon Recall All The "Wrong Chats" You Send On WhatsApp

No more "Oops sorry wrong chat".

If you've ever been in a situation like this

Image via SAYS

You know how embarrassing it can be to accidentally send messages to the wrong person or a whole group of people on WhatsApp

Image via Giphy

But there might soon be a way to prevent that. 

WhatsApp is rolling out a new feature that will allow you to essentially unsend any embarrassing messages you've sent to the wrong person

Image via BBC

This has been a long requested feature by many users of the app.

It comes in the form of a feature called 'Delete for Everyone'

Image via GoAndroid

According to the app's FAQ page, the feature works for both individual and group chats.

"Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with "This message was deleted" in your recipients' chats (*). Similarly, if you see "This message was deleted" in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone."

Image via digit

However, if you just want to delete your copy of a message and not hide it from everyone else's screen, selecting "Delete for Me" will do exactly that.

You should take note though, that the feature only works under a few circumstances

There are a few things you should be mindful of when you want to delete a message. 

For one, you can only delete a message up to seven minutes after you've sent it. Once those seven minutes are up, there's no going back. 

Besides that, it is only possible to successfully delete a message if all recipients of the chat are using the latest version of WhatsApp. 

Another thing to note is that the app will not notify you on whether or not deleting your message was successful. 

So if you're unknowingly texting a person using a non-updated version of the app and try to unsend a message, there will be no way to know if your message was really unsent (unless you check their phone, of course).

Either way, we're sure this comes as the ultimate relief for many, many users

The new feature will soon be available on all Android and iOS devices

Image via Khabar NonStop

Before long, you'll finally have a way to erase those embarrassing texts you thought were a good idea. 

Leave a comment