KL Is Considered As 1 District Under CMCO - But How Many In Selangor?

Interdistrict and interstate travel are only allowed in exceptional cases.

Cover image via Majlis Keselamatan Negara (Facebook) & Malay Mail

Since the Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO) began in Kuala Lumpur, Selangor, and Putrajaya, there have been questions surrounding the implementation and where one can travel without restrictions

Interstate and interdistrict travel is prohibited except for emergencies.

Those travelling to another district for work are required to obtain a valid working permit and/or an employer letter.

When you are on the road, police officers at designated roadblocks may ask you for your origin of departure and destination.

Image via Reuters

Defence Minister Ismail Sabri clarified that administrative districts are used during the enforcement of CMCO rather than police or health districts

In a press conference on 15 October, he also said that the previously enforced 10km radius travel restriction during the CMCO in May does not apply in this iteration.

Travelling within Kuala Lumpur is allowed as long as you do not cross state borders

The Defence Minister said the capital city is considered as a single district and Putrajaya another district.

"For example, those from Bukit Bintang can travel freely to Taman Tun Dr Ismail or those in Cheras to Bukit Bintang," he added.

However, in Selangor, the state is divided into nine districts instead:

- Gombak (Gombak, Rawang, Ampang, Setapak, Ulu Klang, Selayang, Kundang, Kuang, Batu Caves, Sungai Buloh, Kampung Sungai Pusu)

- Hulu Langat (Kajang, Ampang, Cheras, Bangi, Semenyih, Beranang, Bandar Baru Bangi, Bandar Tun Hussein Onn, Balakong, Taman Sri Nanding)

- Hulu Selangor (Kuala Kubu Bharu, Batang Kali, Kerling, Rasa, Serendah, Hulu Bernam, Bukit Beruntung)

- Klang (Kapar, Shah Alam, Meru, Bandar Baru Klang, Bukit Kemuning, Pandamaran, Pelabuhan Klang, Telok Menegun, Glenmarie Cove, Batu 4)

- Kuala Langat (Bandar Saujana Putra, Banting, Batu, Jugra, Teluk Datok, Morib, Tanjung Sepat, Teluk Panglima Garang)

- Kuala Selangor (Tanjung Karang, Bestari Jaya, Ijok, Jeram, Puncak Alam, Api-Api, Pasangan, Sungai Buloh)

- Petaling (Petaling Jaya, Puchong, Subang, Damansara, Shah Alam, Bukit Raja, Kota Raja, Bandar Sri Damansara, Country Heights, Puchong, Puchong Jaya, Puchong Perdana, Serdang)

- Sabak Bernam (Sekinchan, Sabak, Sungai Besar, Sungai Air Tawar, Sungai Panjang)

- Sepang (Pekan Sepang, Dengkil, Sungai Pelek, Cyberjaya, Salak Tinggi, Kuala Lumpur International Airport)

Note that certain areas such as Shah Alam, Ampang, Cheras, and Gombak overlap with other districts.

It can be a little confusing, but there are more sources to look up if you need further assistance

To clear up any confusion, you may contact the Royal Malaysia Police (PDRM) in accordance with your location here.

You can also look for your Unique Parcel Identifier (UPI) on MyGeoPortal.

Keep practising physical distancing and wash your hands often. Watch the latest update on the COVID-19 situation:

Here are the new CMCO standard operating procedures (SOPs) and guidelines announced by the Defence Minister:

Stay updated with the latest COVID-19 news:

You may be interested in: