Here Is Everything You Need To Know About The CMCO In Klang

The who, what, where, when, and why.

Cover image via Majlis Keselamatan Negara (Facebook) & TODAYonline

Defence Minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob said that there has been an update to yesterday's announcement made by the National Security Council (MKN)

Ismail Sabri broke the news during a live address from his home today, 8 October.

The government has decided to revise the Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO) guidelines and clarify which areas will be under the movement order.

So here is everything you need to know about the Klang CMCO:

1. The CMCO will only be enforced in the Klang sub-district while areas under the Kapar sub-district will not be affected

As a whole, the Klang district is made up of two different sub-districts (mukim), which are Klang and Kapar.

The two sub-districts are outlined as below:

Image via MPK Klang

Therefore, CMCO SOPs will only apply to the areas that are highlighted in green while areas highlighted in pink are not subjected to the movement order.

Here is the complete list of areas that will be under the CMCO:

2. All economic sectors in Klang are now allowed to resume operations during CMCO

Image via VisionKL

International Trade and Industry Minister Azmin Ali issued a statement on his Twitter account and wrote, "After considering the current health situation in the Klang district and the importance of ensuring economic sustainability, the MKN meeting today has decided to allow all economic sectors in the Klang District to continue operating as usual with strict compliance with the standard operating procedures (SOPs)."

Therefore, Ismail Sabri's statement yesterday regarding only essential services being allowed to operate during CMCO is null and void.

However, authorities have been ordered to increase SOP enforcement to ensure the safety of workers and residents in Klang.

3. Movement in and out of the Klang sub-district is allowed except for certain red zones


When SAYS contacted the South Klang district police headquarters, a representative said that people are allowed to resume their daily routine as usual except for those in Bukit Tinggi and Andalas as these areas are classified as red zones.

Therefore, people can still travel to and from other parts of the Klang sub-district freely without special permission from authorities.

4. Roadblocks will be set up in different areas throughout Klang and Shah Alam

The police clarified with SAYS that this is merely to ensure that residents abide with SOPs.

5. The CMCO will be enforced starting 12.01am on Friday, 9 October

Image via CodeBlue

As of now, the CMCO is planned to be enforced for an entire two weeks until Friday, 23 October.

6. Restaurants and hawker stalls are allowed to operate from 6am to 10pm but dine-ins are not allowed

Customers may only opt for takeaway or drive-thru options.

7. Public transport will be allowed to operate from 6am to 12am while Port Klang can operate as usual

Image via OneApps

Buses, taxis, and e-hailing services are all categorised as public transport.

Keep practising physical distancing and wash your hands often. Watch the latest update on the COVID-19 situation:

During the CMCO, police officers ranked Inspector and above may issue compounds on those who do not comply with SOPs:

Read more COVID-19 updates on SAYS: