Pakatan Harapan Government Has Collapsed After The Coalition Lost Its Majority

The coalition currently has 97 seats, which is not enough for a simple majority.

Cover image via News Straits Times

The Pakatan Harapan (PH) ruling government has collapsed after the coalition lost its Parliamentary majority of 129 seats

The collapse of the ruling government comes after the resignation of Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad and 26 Federal lawmakers pulling out from the pact today, 24 February.

According to Malaysiakini, the Pakatan Harapan coalition is left with 97 seats in the Dewan Rakyat after 26 MPs from Bersatu and 11 MPs from PKR quit the coalition.

However, Barisan Nasional in the opposition still doesn't have enough numbers to form a new government despite the support from others

Any new coalition will require at least 112 seats to form the majority in the Dewan Rakyat.

Malaysiakini reported that situation currently points towards a "hung parliament" because no political parties nor coalitions have the majority in the Dewan Rakyat.

This is a developing story. More updates to come.

Catch up on the latest updates here:

You may be interested in: