Thailand Lifts Mandatory Quarantine For Tourists From Malaysia And 45 Other Countries

The move is in line with the government's plan to reopen the country.

Cover image via Mladen Antonov/CNN & Mladen Antonov/Bloomberg

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for our latest stories and breaking news.

Fully vaccinated travellers from Malaysia and 45 other countries can now visit Thailand without having to quarantine upon arrival effective 1 November

According to a statement by the Thai Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the move is in line with the government's plan to reopen the country.

Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha took to Facebook and wrote, "If we want to attract more foreign tourists to stimulate our tourism and tourism-related businesses, we needed to be proactive."

"I am glad to inform you that we have increased the number of low-risk countries to be allowed to visit Thailand without quarantine to 46 countries," he added.

Visitors will still need to show proof of a negative polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test result taken before they leave their home country

Nikkei Asia reported that visitors will also need to take another COVID-19 test upon arrival in Thailand.

Meanwhile, travellers from countries that are not included in the list must undergo a seven-day quarantine if arriving by air. For those arriving by sea, they will have to undergo a 10-day mandatory quarantine.

The list of 46 countries and territories that Thailand plans to allow quarantine-free entry includes Malaysia, Australia, the United Kingdom, and Singapore

Other countries on the list are:

1. Austria

2. Bahrain

3. Belgium

4. Bhutan

5. Brunei Darusssalam

6. Bulgaria

7. Cambodia

8. Canada

9. Chile

10. China

11. Cyprus

12. Czech Republic

13. Denmark

14. Estonia

15. Finland

16. France

17. Germany

18. Greece

19. Hungary

20. Iceland

21. Ireland

22. Israel

23. Italy

24. Japan

25. Latvia

26. Lithuania

27. Malta

28. Netherlands

29. New Zealand

30. Norway

31. Poland

32. Portugal

33. Qatar

34. Saudi Arabia

35. Slovenia

36. South Korea

37. Spain

38. Sweden

39. Switzerland

40. United Arab Emirates

41. United States

42. Hong Kong

Thinking of going on a vacation overseas? Here are other countries that welcome fully vaccinated individuals and do not require compulsory quarantine upon arrival:

Read more recent news on SAYS: