A Total Of 114 MPs Are Now Saying They Have Named Tun M As Prime Minister

If the number supporting Dr Mahathir holds up, then Muhyiddin Yassin, whom the Agong named the eighth Prime Minister, no longer commands the confidence of the majority of the MPs to form a new government.

Cover image via Twitter @saifnasution

The political crisis that left Malaysia without a government since 24 February appeared to subside after Bersatu president Muhyiddin Yassin, with the support of 114 out of 222 MPs, was announced as the eighth Prime Minister by the Agong on Saturday evening, 29 February

The decision by Istana Negara was announced after the Yang di-Pertuan Agong (YDPA) was informed that Muhyiddin commands the confidence of the majority of the MPs to form a new government.

The numbers are 18 PAS MPs, 42 UMNO MPs and its allies in Barisan Nasional, 18 Gabungan Parti Sarawak MPs, and 36 MPs from Bersatu which includes the ex-PKR MPs under Mohamed Azmin Ali.

In the official statement, the Agong, Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah, said that he hopes the political crisis won't be prolonged as he has already made the decision.

"His Majesty decrees that the appointment process of the prime minister cannot be delayed as the country needs a government for the wellbeing of its people and the country we love."

A swearing-in ceremony is scheduled to take place at Istana Negara at 10.30am on Sunday, 1 March.

The situation, however, seemed to have changed in the span of a few hours as Pakatan Harapan coalition now claims to have the backing of 114 MPs who support Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad as Prime Minister

At around 9.30pm on Saturday, PKR president Anwar Ibrahim took to his official Twitter account to briefly say that while the PH coalition has the support of 114 MPs, "more will come".

The 114 MPs who are now supporting Dr Mahathir are scheduled to meet at Yayasan Al-Bukhary in Kuala Lumpur at 9am on Sunday

"We will meet in a peaceful way. We do not want any trouble. We just want to say that the numbers before this had misled (the Agong), it is incorrect," Amanah's Salahuddin Ayub was quoted saying.

However, when asked if the Pakatan Harapan plans to allow Muhyiddin to be sworn in as the eighth Prime Minister at 10.30am, Salahuddin told media, "we will not stop that".

This photo was posted by PH on its Facebook page at 11.33pm, 29 February.

Image via Pakatan Harapan

Dr Mahathir, meanwhile, has published a list of all the 114 MPs that are supporting him. He also said that he has sent a letter to the Agong.

Among the MPs supporting Dr Mahathir, six are from Bersatu including himself, his son Mukhriz Mahathir, Bersatu Youth chief Syed Saddiq, and Dr Maszlee Malik among others.

According to Dr Mahathir, with the six Bersatu MPs backing him, the number of 36 Bersatu MPs that was presented to the Agong supporting Muhyiddin Yassin cannot be accurate.

I hope the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong will accept my letter (with the 114 names) and explanation.

On the other hand, people went to a rally at Dataran Merdeka:

The country's political crisis was caused by #LangkahSheraton.

Follow our coverage of the events since Langkah Sheraton here:

You may be interested in: