Istana Negara: Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin Is The 8th Prime Minister

Agong announced that Muhyiddin commands the confidence of the majority of the MPs.

Cover image via Twitter @Azmin Ali & Twitter @FirdausAzli

UPDATE 29 Feb 2020, 11:57 PM:

Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin has been announced as the eighth Prime Minister of Malaysia, Istana Negara said in an official statement

The appointment was announced by the comptroller of the Royal Household Ahmad Fadil Shamsuddin this evening, who said that Yang Di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah made the decision after interviewing MPs on Tuesday and Wednesday and further consultation with party leaders earlier today.

"After getting representation from all leaders representing their respective parties and independent Dewan Rakyat members, in the opinion of his royal highness, the Dewan Rakyat member that is likely to enjoy majority confidence among the Dewan Rakyat members is Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin," Ahmad said.

A swearing-in ceremony is set to take place on Sunday, 1 March

In the official statement, the Yang di-Pertuan Agong is quoted as saying that the Agong hopes the political crisis won't be prolonged as he has already made the decision.

"His Majesty decrees that the appointment process of the prime minister cannot be delayed as the country needs a government for the wellbeing of its people and the country we love."

The swearing-in process will take place at Istana Negara at 10.30am.

Prior to this, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad reportedly had a total of 106 Members of Parliament (MPs) backing him, which was six less than the minimum number required to have the majority in Dewan Rakyat

Malaysia has been under a political crisis since Monday, 24 February, that had left the country without a government after the ruling Pakatan Harapan (PH) coalition collapsed.

The situation, however, seemed to take a normal turn today, 29 February, when PKR president Anwar Ibrahim said he is taking a step back to "prioritise" the nation above self.

Anwar, who was at Istana Negara to have an audience with the Yang di-Pertuan Agong (YDPA) earlier today, said that he has handed in a statutory declaration (SD) to the Agong, stating that the PH coalition has named Dr Mahathir as their candidate for Prime Minister.

"I am very touched by the support for me but I choose to look at the national interest over personal agenda. So, I hope my friends will not be disappointed. We need to think about national interest and how we can develop the country," the PKR president was quoted as saying before he went to the Palace.

However, the political situation changed, once again, and this time in favour of Muhyiddin Yassin, who previously had a backing of 95 MPs from Perikatan Nasional coalition.

It seems that Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) leaned towards the Bersatu president today.

While media reports were saying that GPS was likely to support Dr Mahathir, in an earlier speech today, Abang Johari, the Sarawak Chief Minister and GPS chairman had said that his party is not keen to work with DAP, one of the component parties of the PH coalition.

The 72-year-old Prime Minister-Designate has since asked Malaysians to accept the decision made by the Palace:

The country's political crisis was caused by #LangkahSheraton.

Since then, there were several names floating for the post of the Prime Minister, one of which was of PKR's Anwar Ibrahim.

However, earlier today, Dr Mahathir said he has the majority:

On the other hand, Dr Mahathir, who resigned as prime minister on Monday only to be appointed as interim Prime Minister by the Agong, had hinted towards a 'Unity Government' void of any party lines:

Follow our coverage of the events since Langkah Sheraton here

You may be interested in: