BN Got Its First Win In GE14 After PH Candidate Was Denied Entry Into Nomination Centre

Pakatan Harapan’s Dr Streram Sinnasamy was denied entry on grounds that he lacked proper credential issued by the Election Commission.

Cover image via Utusan/Hazreen Mohamad/NSTP (Edited)

Barisan Nasional (BN) candidate Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan has won the Rantau state seat uncontested

Image via Bernama via NST

The caretaker Negeri Sembilan Menteri Besar will return as the assemblyman for Rantau for the fourth term.

The Star Online reported that Mohamad Hasan, who is also Rembau UMNO division chief, was declared as the winner as his sole challenger from Pakatan Harapan Dr Streram Sinnasamy failed to file his nomination papers.

The announcement was made today by returning officer Amino Agus Suyub, not long after he announced the names of other eligible candidates for the Rembau parliament and other state seats, according to Astro Awani.

Local media reports stated that the Pakatan Harapan candidate was denied entry into Dewan Sri Rembau to submit his nomination papers earlier today

New Straits Times reported that Streram, along with his proposer and seconder, were denied entry as each of them lacked a pass from the Election Commission (EC).

According to Bernama, Streram and his supporters arrived at the nomination centre at about 8am and they protested against the police when the authorities prevented him, his proposer, and seconder from entering the centre, which caused the situation to be "a little tensed". 

Those who wish to contest in the election must submit their nomination papers at their respective nomination centres between 9am and 10am today, 28 April.

Mohamad Hasan's victory means that Barisan Nasional has secured its first win for the 14th General Election

Image via Utusan

During the last election, Mohamad Hasan defended the Rantau seat after defeating Parti Keadilan Rakyat's (PKR) Aisah Lamsah with a majority of 4,613 votes.

Mohamad Hasan has held the Rantau state seat for three terms since he first won it in 2004.

For verified GE14 info on all candidates and seats, head to www.myundi.com.my.

More GE14 news on SAYS: