#GE15: Azmin Ali's 3-Term Conquest In Gombak Ends

Selangor menteri besar Amirudin Shari defeated the former PKR member with a majority of 12,729 votes.

Cover image via Harian Metro & Berita Harian

Follow us on InstagramTikTok, and Telegram for the latest stories and breaking news.

Selangor menteri besar Datuk Seri Amirudin Shari has ended the three-term conquest of Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali in the Gombak constituency with a majority of 12,729 votes

Amirudin, who contested under Pakatan Harapan (PH), won 72,267 votes, leaving Perikatan Nasional's (PN) Azmin behind with 59,538, according to MyUndi.

Meanwhile, Barisan Nasional (BN) candidate Datuk Megat Zulkarnain Omardin won 30,723 votes, Gerakan Tanah Air (GTA) candidate Jamaludin Mohd Tahir garnered 2,223 votes, and independent candidate Zulkifli Ahmad got 675 votes.

According to Free Malaysia Today, turnout was 80% out of 206,744 voters.

Image via MyUndi

Azmin served as a Gombak member of parliament (MP) for three terms

He won the general election in May 2018 with a 48,721-vote margin under Pakatan Harapan (PH). In February 2020, however, he and 10 PKR MPs left the party to support Bersatu in what has come to be known as the "Sheraton Move".

Before Azmin left PKR, Amirudin, the Selangor PKR leader, had a tight relationship with him.

After 22 months in office, the PH administration fell because of the defection and Bersatu's decision to leave the coalition.

Get the latest political updates on SAYS here

Image via SAYS

You may be interested in: