#GE15: Ismail Sabri Secures His Chance To Become PM After Winning Bera

Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob has been the Bera member of parliament (MP) since 2004.

Cover image via Lai Seng Sin/Reuters

Follow us on Instagram, TikTok, and Telegram for the latest stories and breaking news.

Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob has officially won the Bera parliamentary seat, securing his chances to become the prime minister should his coalition win

According to New Straits Times, Ismail Sabri retains the constituency seat in Pahang for a fifth term.

He received 31,762 votes (53.3%) in the 15th General Election (GE15), beating Pakatan Harapan's (PH) Abas Awang and Perikatan Nasional's (PN) Aswami Harun with a 16,695 majority.

Abas received 15,067 votes (25.3%), while Aswami garnered 12,719 votes (21.4%).

In GE14, Ismail Sabri only managed to secure a 2,311 majority.

The 62-year-old UMNO vice president is Barisan Nasional's (BN) prime ministerial candidate. 

Get the latest political updates on SAYS here

Image via SAYS

For more #GE15-related stories on SAYS:

You may be interested in: