Here's What Pakatan Harapan Wants To Do For Malaysians If It Wins GE14

The coalition also revealed its new line-up of key leaders.

Cover image via Lim Huey Teng/Malaysiakini

Pakatan Harapan has released a set of plans the coalition plans to achieve within the first 100 days of it taking over Putrajaya

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, the chairperson of Pakatan Harapan.

Image via Lim Huey Teng/Malaysiakini

Malaysiakini reported today, 14 July, that the coalition's newly-minted chairperson, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, read out the list of plans at a press conference late last night, 13 July, at the PKR headquarters in Petaling Jaya.

Here's the list of plans, according to the English daily:

- Abolish the Goods and Services Tax (GST)
- Stabilise the petrol price
- Form a royal commission of inquiry (RCI) to investigate the 1MDB financial scandal
- Fight corruption
- Embark on a series of efforts to reduce Malaysians' financial burdens
- Start a reform process of the nation's key institutions
- Rehabilitate the Federal Land Development Authority (FELDA)

The Pakatan Harapan coalition is made up of DAP, PKR, Parti Amanah Negara and Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia.

The former prime minister and Barisan Nasional (BN) leader, also mentioned that the coalition will implement a two-term limit policy for the country's prime ministers, when it comes to power

Dr Mahathir was the longest serving Malaysian prime minister, leading the country's longest ruling party, BN, for a total of 22 years. He served five terms as the prime minister of Malaysia.

During the press conference, the coalition also pledged to "cancel and correct" any breach of laws and constitution by the current Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak-led BN government that may not be in the best interest of the people.

"This includes reinstating public funds which were lost through the 1MDB mega scandal," said Mahathir, when reading out the coalition's joint statement, as reported by Malaysiakini.

He added that Pakatan Harapan will also release and drop the charges against all political prisoners in Malaysia and work on reforming the law to ensure that there's no abuse of power in the future.

The coalition also took the opportunity to announce the names of its key leaders last night

Dr Mahathir with the key leaders of Pakatan Harapan at the press conference last night.

Image via Lim Huey Teng/Malaysiakini

Anwar Ibrahim (PKR) will be Pakatan Harapan's de facto leader, its chairperson is Dr Mahathir Mohamad (Bersatu), and the president will be Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail (PKR).

Azmin Ali (PKR), Mukhriz Mahathir (Bersatu), Chong Chieng Jien (DAP), Salahuddin Ayub (Amanah) will be the deputy presidents of the coalition, while M Kulasegaran (DAP) is the treasurer and the secretary will be Saifuddin Abdullah (PKR).

Mahathir said that the coalition will submit the registration of Pakatan Harapan's new line-up to the Registrar of Societies (ROS) after the finalisation of all the details.

"We will register it as soon as possible, once we complete the details. We already have the structure. We will send it together with the logo," he added.

Pakatan Harapan's new logo.

Image via Kamles Kumar/Malay Mail Online

When asked by reporters on whether Anwar will be the coalition's prime minister candidate, Mahathir said that they will work on the pardon process for the the de facto leader after they win

He mentioned that there will be an interim prime minister while the coalition waits for the release and reentry of Anwar Ibrahim into politics.

"The application that will go through the legal process and seek the royal consent, will enable him to fully return to the national political scene,"

"Today we are only announcing the eighth prime minister... we have yet to declare the seventh," said Mahathir without revealing the name of the seventh prime minister, as reported by New Straits Times (NST) today.

What do you think about Pakatan Harapan's plans for Malaysia if they win the next general elections? Let us know in the comment section below.

More news on SAYS: