15 Young GE14 Parliamentary Candidates Under 35 Who Have Come Under Media Spotlight

These could be the faces of the future line-up of leadership in Malaysia.

Cover image via Chrisnadia Sinam/NSTP/Mohd Asri Saifuddin Mamat (Edited)

The nomination for the 14th General Election (GE14) candidates took place earlier today, 28 April

Potential candidates headed to the various nomination centres that were set up by the Election Commission (EC) across the country early in the morning to file their nomination papers before the nomination of candidates closed at 10am.

A total of 222 parliamentary seats and 505 state seats will be contested across the country, except for Sarawak which will not hold its state election since it was held in 2016.

Candidates can begin campaigning for a total of 11 days until 8 May, as Malaysians would then cast their votes on 9 May.

There are many new and fresh faces that are being introduced as parliamentary candidates this time around, with many of them being first-time candidates.

Here's a list of some of the youngest parliamentary candidates for GE14:

1. Muhammad Aminur Shafiq Mohammad Abduh (PAS), 28 — P009 Alor Setar parliamentary seat

Image via Aminur Shafiq

Muhammad Aminur Shafiq is said to be the second-youngest candidate fielded by PAS in GE14, the youngest being Jumaidin Lakalla, who is 26 this year. 

According to theSun, Muhammad Aminur Shafiq is a former assistant researcher with University Utara.

2. Fikhran Hamshi Mohd Fatmi (BN-UMNO), 32 — P021 Kota Bharu parliamentary seat

Image via Fikhran Hamshi

Fikhran Hamshi Mohd Fatmi, the Kota Bharu BN Youth Deputy Chief, was born and raised in Kota Bharu.

The former banker turned businessman succeeds his father, Tan Sri Mohamad Fatmi Che Salleh, who lost in the last election to PAS' Datuk Takiyuddin Hassan. 

3. Ho Kwok Xheng (BN-MCA), 30 — P106 Damansara (formerly known as Petaling Jaya Utara) parliamentary seat

According to Ho Kwok Xheng, as reported by The Star Online, he became interested in politics since his tertiary education but only joined MCA early last year.

"I was born and raised here. I went to school here, all my friends are here, this is my home," the lawyer was quoted as saying in a report by Free Malaysia Today, in reference to contesting in the Damansara parliamentary seat. 

4. Shahril Sufian Hamdan (BN-UMNO), 32 — P112 Kuala Langat parliamentary seat

Image via Shahril Hamdan

Shahril Hamdan is a UMNO Youth executive council member who leads the Young Professionals Bureau.

Prior to assuming his position as the chief executive officer at an oil and gas company, Shahril worked as policy officer to Khairy Jamaluddin and as a strategy and management consultant at McKinsey and Company.

5. Chan Quin Er (BN-MCA), 31 — P122 Seputeh parliamentary seat

Image via

Born and raised in Old Klang Road, Kuala Lumpur, Chan Quin Er is a lawyer by profession. 

The Seputeh MCA assistant secretary has been long active in the political scene, having joined the party since she was 20.

6. Mahfuz Roslan (PAS), 34 — P132 Port Dickson (formerly known as Telok Kemang) parliamentary seat

Image via Berita PAS

Mahfuz Roslan is the Negeri Sembilan PAS Youth deputy chief.

According to Berita PAS, Mahfuz Roslan is no stranger to the community in Port Dickson, especially in the areas of Chuah and Bukit Pelanduk. He is also known to be the founder of Pondok Moden Darul Solah in Port Dickson. 

7. Eric Choo Wei Sern (BN-MCA), 30 — P138 Kota Melaka parliamentary seat

The Star Online reported that Eric Choo, one of the founders of the MCA United Kingdom Club, has been active in the constituency for more than a year.

"He is often spotted at religious events and well liked by village folks for his soft spoken and low-profile disposition," the report stated. 

8. Ahmad Nawfal Mahfodz (PAS), 34 — P143 Pagoh parliamentary seat

Image via NSTP

Ahmad Nawfal is the son of Pas Dewan Ulama chief Datuk Dr Mahfodz Mohamed.

New Strait Times reported that the Business Management graduate from Universiti Teknologi MARA Malaysia (UiTM) had been helping his father, who had previously contested the same seat, in serving the Pagoh community.

9. Yeo Bee Yin (PKR-DAP), 35 — P145 Bakri parliamentary seat

Raised in Segamat, Johor, Yeo Bee Yin has headed to Bakri to replace incumbent Er Teck Hwa in the Johor parliamentary seat.

The chemical engineer by training is the former Damansara Utama assemblyman, who won with the biggest majority of 30,689 votes for a state seat in the country during the last general election.

10. Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman (PKR), 26 — P146 Muar parliamentary seat

Image via NST

As one of the founding members of Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (PPBM), Johor-born Syed Saddiq is known to be a top debater as he is a three-time winner of the Asian British Parliamentary (ABP) Debating Championship's Asia's Best Speaker award.

The Youth chief of PPBM, who declined the offer to study in Oxford University to remain active in politics, is one of the youngest parliamentary candidates in GE14.

11. Chrisnadia Sinam (PKR), 35 — P170 Tuaran parliamentary seat

Image via Nadia Sinam

Chrisnadia Sinam is one of the two young candidates fielded by PKR Sabah.

Utusan Borneo reported that Chrisnadia is a former Public Works Department (Jabatan Kerja Raya) engineer.

12. Ceasar Mandela Malakun (BN-UPKO), 28 — P174 Penampang parliamentary seat

Ceasar quickly got up the ranks of the United Pasokmomogun Ka­­da­zandusun Murut Organisation (UPKO) party when he was selected as the Penampang UPKO committee member in just less than two years after joining as an ordinary member.

It was learned that prior to joining the party and becoming an entrepreneur, Ceasar, who is the son of Kadazandusun politician and businessman Datuk Seri Clarence Bong­kos Malakun, was a lawyer.  

13. Raymond Ahuar (PKR), 33 — P182 Pensiangan parliamentary seat

Image via Titus Pengeran

Raymond Ahuar is the other young candidate that has been fielded by Sabah PKR.

The Sabah PKR Youth chief contested for the Nabawan state seat in the last election, but lost to BN's incumbent Datuk Bobbey Ahfang Suan by 343 votes.

14. Mordi Bimol (PKR-DAP), 33 — P192 Mas Gading parliamentary seat

Image via Mordi Bimol

Mordi Bimol was fielded as DAP's candidate in Tasik Biru during the 2016 Sarawak state elections.

He lost to Barisan Nasional's Henry Jinep, who snapped up a total of 6,992 votes winning with a majority of 1,288 votes.

15. Dr Kelvin Yii Lee Wuen (PKR-DAP), 31 — P195 Kuching parliamentary seat

Dr Kelvin Yii, who is a medical doctor by profession, was previously the parliamentary assistant to former Stampin MP Julian Tan and special assistant to former Bandar Kuching MP Chong Chieng Jen.

In an interview with The Malaysian Insight, Kelvin revealed that he decided to enter politics 2013, eight years after doing humanitarian work, in his aspirations to change a broken system that cannot be done through good deeds alone.

You can view the full list of candidates contesting in GE14 on the Election Commission website or

Malaysia will go to the polls on 9 May. Here are some crucial information you should take note of ahead of polling day:

Catch up with the latest GE14 news on SAYS: