Art Harun: Each MP To Nominate A Name For The Next Prime Minister

All MPs are required to submit their vote by 4pm on Wednesday, 18 August.

Cover image via Azneal Ishak/Malaysiakini & Bernama/Malay Mail

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for our latest stories and breaking news.

House Speaker Datuk Azhar Azizan Harun has issued a notice to all members of Parliament (MPs) to nominate a name among them to become the next Prime Minister

According to the notice, under Article 43(2)(a), the Yang di-Pertuan Agong has to appoint a prime minister who, in his judgment, is likely to command the confidence of the majority in Parliament.

"As instructed by decree from His Majesty, I hereby give notice to you to submit a letter clearly stating one MP whom you believe should become the ninth prime minister," wrote Azhar.

All MPs are required to submit their vote by 4pm on Wednesday, 18 August

The vote, which has to be a statutory declaration, has to be submitted through fax, email, or WhatsApp and addressed to Senior Private Secretary to His Majesty, Colonel Datuk Nazim Mohd Alim.

Due to COVID-19 precautions, hand delivered letters will not be accepted.

Late submissions will not be entertained, said Azhar. He also reminded MPs to keep the content of their declarations secret.

Read the full notice here:

The palace announced yesterday that Muhyiddin will be the caretaker Prime Minister until a successor is elected:

Muhyiddin Yassin tendered his resignation to the Yang di-Pertuan Agong after failing to hold on to his majority:

Do you think you can follow in our founding father's footsteps? Take this fun trivia quiz to find out:

You may be interested in: