It's Official: The Agong Has Sworn In Tan Sri Muhyiddin As Malaysia's 8th Prime Minister

The swearing-in took place at Balai Singgahsana Kecil at 10.33am.

Cover image via Bernama

Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin has been sworn in as the eighth Prime Minister of Malaysia in front of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong (YDPA)

Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah appointed Tan Sri Muhyiddin as the new Prime Minister in accordance with Articles 40(2)(a) and 43(2)(a) of the Federal Constitution.

A video of him arriving at Istana Negara was shared by Bernama:

Earlier today, 1 March, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, who had been the interim Prime Minister after resigning as the 7th Prime Minister on 24 February, said that the Agong has decided not to see him anymore:

The political crisis that left Malaysia without a government since 24 February is now over with the appointment of Tan Sri Muhyiddin as the country's new Prime Minister.

The country's political crisis was caused by #LangkahSheraton.

Follow our coverage of the political events here: