[VIDEO] Sultan Ibrahim Takes Oath As The 17th Agong

Daulat Tuanku.

Cover image via Sultan Ibrahim Sultan Iskandar (Facebook)

Follow us on Instagram, TikTok, and WhatsApp for the latest stories and breaking news.

The Sultan of Johor, Sultan Ibrahim Sultan Iskandar, has taken oath as the 17th Yang di-Pertuan Agong at Istana Negara today, 31 January

At the same ceremony, the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Nazrin Shah, was sworn in as deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

Both their terms will last five years.

Earlier, a private plane carrying the ruler from Johor landed at the Royal Malaysian Air Force (RMAF) Subang Air Base

He was welcomed by the Raja Muda of Selangor Tengku Amir Shah Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah and Tengku Laksamana Selangor Tengku Sulaiman Shah Sultan Salahuddin.

Upon disembarking from his private plane, Sultan Ibrahim walked through a guard of honour formed by officers of the Malaysian Armed Forces.

He then headed to the Special 264th Meeting of the Council of Rulers to recite his oath and sign the letter of appointment to be officially proclaimed as the 17th Agong of Malaysia.

The Johor ruler was elected as the 17th Agong by the Conference of Rulers during its 263rd meeting at Istana Negara on 27 October:

Recently, the Crown Prince of Johor had hinted that Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim will face a tough time when his father, the Sultan of Johor, becomes the Agong:

You may be interested in: