8 Victims Sue Rapid Rail & Prasarana Over 2021 LRT Crash For Alleged Negligence

In the statement of claim, the plaintiffs said Prasarana's then non-executive chairman Datuk Seri Tajuddin Abdul Rahman had also made light of the crash.

Cover image via New Straits Times & Eizairi Shamsudin/New Straits Times

Follow us on Instagram, TikTok, and Telegram for the latest stories and breaking news.

Eight individuals have filed a lawsuit against Rapid Rail and Prasarana for alleged negligence over the Kelana Jaya LRT crash that occurred in May 2021

According to New Straits Times, all eight claimed that they were onboard the LRT that had collided with an empty train on 24 May 2021.

The crash, that happened between the KLCC and Kampung Baru stations between 8pm and 9pm, injured 213 passengers.

Then transport minister Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong said technical faults and loss of communications between the train hostler and the operations control centre (OCC) were among the factors that led to the incident.

The eight plaintiffs claimed that they suffered physical injuries as a result of the crash, which have affected their livelihood

Based on the statement of claim filed at the Kuala Lumpur High Court on 9 March, the plaintiffs named Rapid Rail and Prasarana as first and second defendants.

"The defendants failed to ensure the safety of the plaintiffs and other passengers inside the train.

"The negligence of both defendants have resulted in physical injuries and other losses towards all plaintiffs," the statement of claim said.

The Vibes reported that the victims had experienced injuries such as lacerations to the head, broken teeth, concussions, and depression, among others.

All plaintiffs are seeking general, aggravated, and special damages from the court.  

However, the total amount sought has yet to be quantified.

The plaintiffs also said that Prasarana's then non-executive chairman Datuk Seri Tajuddin Abdul Rahman had made light of the crash in a press conference a day after the incident

"Tajuddin made jokes during the press conference by saying the trains 'kissed each other'.

"At the same press conference, Tajuddin was also seen laughing on live telecasts," the statement said, as quoted by The Vibes.

The suit was filed by Tengku Amalie Tengku Alaudin Shah, Marvena Jitol, Riezariel Haeqal, Rozita Che Rus, Ng Siow Nee, Siti Nuralliah Hashim, Nurul Athirah Mohd K Jayabee, and Muhammad Firdaus Bin Mohd Saleh.

Former Prasarana non-executive chairman Datuk Seri Tajuddin Abdul Rahman.

Image via Eizairi Shamsudin/New Straits Times

News of the crash first came to light with photos and videos being uploaded by victims on social media:

Read more about the 2021 accident here:

You may be interested in: