PN Allegedly Loses Majority After 11 UMNO Members Withdraw Their Support For Muhyiddin

UMNO president Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid said he had presented enough statutory declarations (SDs) to the Agong to prove that the Perikatan Nasional (PN) government has lost their simple majority.

Cover image via UMNO Online (Facebook) & Bernama via The Vibes

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for our latest stories and breaking news.

At least 11 UMNO members of Parliament (MPs) have signed statutory declarations (SDs) to withdraw support for Perikatan Nasional (PN) and Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin

In a press conference yesterday, 3 August, UMNO president Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi said he recently had an audience with the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri'ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah.

"There are enough SDs from UMNO MPs expressing their withdrawal of support for Muhyiddin as Prime Minister which I have presented to the Yang di-Pertuan Agong," he said.

"This shows that his leadership has lost the majority (support) and his legitimacy as the head of government is nullified."

Ahmad Zahid said the 10 MPs with him at the press conference yesterday were for legitimacy purposes as they are among the UMNO members who have signed SDs to withdraw their support for the PN government, reported The Star.

Present during the press conference were:
- Pekan MP and former premier Datuk Seri Najib Razak
- Gua Musang MP Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah
- Pengerang MP Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said
- Tanjong Karang MP Tan Sri Noh Omar
- Pontian MP Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan
- Baling MP Datuk Seri Abdul Azeez Abdul Rahim
- Machang MP Datuk Ahmad Jazlan Yaakub
- Cameron Highlands MP Ramli Mohd Nor
- Jerantut MP Datuk Ahmad Nazlan Idris
- Parit MP Datuk Mohd Nizar Zakaria

Ahmad Zahid said there are more MPs who have signed the SDs, but they could not attend the press conference because they are in their respective areas — for example, MPs in Sabah.

Meanwhile, Malaysiakini, quoting from unnamed sources, reported that a total of 14 UMNO MPs have withdrawn their support for PN and the Prime Minister.

Zahid's announcement came after an UMNO supreme council meeting at 4pm yesterday

Prior to this, it was reported that 30 Barisan Nasional (BN) MPs had signed a declaration letter to support Muhyiddin to remain as the premier.

It is learnt that a secret meeting was held at Wisma Perwira at 9pm on 1 August.

It was chaired by Barisan Nasional Backbenchers' Club (BNBBC) chairman Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim. Deputy Prime Minister (DPM) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob was present to give an opening speech.

As of now, Malay Mail reported that the PN bloc has 104 MPs backing them, eight MPs short to form a simple majority.

There are 107 MPs in the Opposition bench. There are a total of 222 seats in the Parliament, two seats are vacant following the passing of Batu Sapi MP Datuk Liew Vui Keong and Gerik MP Hasbullah Osman.

Meanwhile, Lenggong MP Datuk Seri Dr Shamsul Anuar Nasarah — who is also an UMNO Supreme Council member — resigned from his Cabinet post yesterday

Shamsul was the Energy and Natural Resources Minister.

New Straits Times reported that his resignation was due to his loyalty to UMNO.

"Taking into account some of the decisions and stances of the party, as an UMNO member who is obedient and loyal to the party, I hereby resign as a member of the Cabinet," he said in a statement.

"I will be focusing on my duties as the Lenggong member of Parliament and help strengthen the party in the face of the increasingly challenging political situation."

Shamsul was not present during Ahmad Zahid's press conference yesterday, but an unnamed source told Malaysiakini that he is among the 14 MPs who have signed SDs to withdraw support for the PN government.

Lenggong MP Datuk Seri Dr Shamsul Anuar Nasarah.

Image via Berita Harian

It was earlier announced that Parliament will be suspended temporarily due to COVID-19 fears:

In a statement yesterday, Muhyiddin said the government has agreed to table a motion to debate the revocation of the Emergency Ordinances in Parliament:

You may be interested in: