"We Are Not Traitors" - Azmin Ali And 10 Former PKR Members Who Left The Party

The 11 MPs said they left PKR yesterday to form an independent bloc in Parliament.

Cover image via Firdaus Latif/Malay Mail & Yusof Mat Isa/Malay Mail

Former Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) deputy president Datuk Seri Azmin Ali and 10 other former PKR members said that they are not traitors who betrayed the ruling coalition, Pakatan Harapan

In a statement on Facebook posted Monday night, 24 February, the group of 11 collectively said they were only taking "proactive measures" to put an end to attempts to oust Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad in the middle of his term.

"We are convinced that forcing the Prime Minister to set a date for the transition of power are malicious attempts that would have left him as a 'lame duck PM'," said the faction.

Azmin Ali is pictured at Sheraton Hotel on Sunday, 23 February.

Image via Firdaus Latif/Malay Mail

The 11 include Azmin Ali and former PKR vice-president Zuraida Kamaruddin who were both sacked by the party yesterday, 24 February

According to Malaysiakini, the 11 members of parliament (MP) said they plan to form an independent bloc in Parliament.

The others who were prompted to quit the party following the sacking were:

- Datuk Saifuddin Abdullah (Indera Mahkota MP),
- Baru Bian (Selangau MP),
- Datuk Kamaruddin Jaffar (Bandar Tun Razak MP),
- Datuk Mansor Othman (Nibong Tebal MP),
- Datuk Rashid Hasnon (Batu Pahat MP),
- Datuk Seri Dr Santhara Kumar (Segamat MP),
- Ali Biju (Saratok MP),
- Willie Mongin (Puncak Borneo MP), and
- Jonathan Yasin (Ranau MP).

The group added that they firmly deny allegations of those who label them as traitors

"Those who try to oust the prime minister are the actual traitors because they are more concerned with the transition of power being implemented instead of executing policies needed to strengthen the economy and improve the people's wellbeing," they said.

They also said their actions have been justified when the other side realised their mistakes and came out to make statements in support of Dr Mahathir continuing his role as prime minister until the end of his term.

Read their full statement here:

Here is a timeline of all the things that have happened in the past few days:

Here are other updates you may have missed: